Township Meeting - 5/17/2006

The regular meeting of the Board of Township Trustees, Newbury Township was called to order at 7:30 p.m., May 17, 2006, with all members present.    Minutes of the previous meeting were approved upon a motion by Mr. Skomrock, a second by Mr. Quigley and an affirmative vote from Mr. Quigley and Mr. Skomrock, with Mrs. Blair abstaining due to her absence from the previous meeting.   

Mr. Quigley provided an update on the Newbury Center project, noting that a sign describing the project had been placed on the property, and reporting on a meeting held between, ODOT, Mr. Quigley, a representative from the Geauga County Engineer’s office, and Panzica representatives.  It appears that progress is being made, with the developer probably 30 days away from obtaining a Rt. 87 driveway permit from ODOT.  It was noted that the 5/16/06 ZBA meeting involved discussion regarding parking lot configuration at the Panzica site, with all present agreeing that perimeter parking would not be needed, at least initially.   It was reported that Mrs. Endres and Mrs. Hrabak would be meeting along with ODOT with representatives of St. Helen’s church to discuss issues with the church parking lot entrance onto Rt. 87.

Police activity for May to date reported by Chief Aytay included 42 calls, 254 miles driven, and 92 hours worked.  It was reported that a DARE officer from the Geauga County Sheriff’s Department was going to be doing a presentation regarding drugs in the workplace as part of the township’s safety awareness program and steps to qualify for a Workers’ Compensation discount.

It was reported by Mr. Quigley that juvenile offenders with a public service requirement are available for basic township labor assistance.   Mrs. Blair reported on a meeting she had today at Camp Ho Mita Kota that reported on volunteer efforts being carried out by General Electric employee volunteers at the campsite, along with a $5,000 donation from GE.  It was reported by Mr. Quigley that on May 22nd at 9am a workshop is being held at Newbury Center Cemetery with an expert from Lakeview Cemetery instructing on the repair of headstones for the benefit of area towns and township cemetery personnel.

Mr. Quigley presented Resolution 2006051701 for consideration by the Trustees.  This resolution stated the opposition of the Newbury Township Trustees to the passage of a proposed TEL/TABOR amendment in its current form, while acknowledging the frustration that taxpayers feel regarding the growth of government spending.  This Resolution was passed upon a motion by Mr. Skomrock, a second by Mrs. Blair, and a unanimous affirmative vote, and was subsequently signed by all three Trustees and the Fiscal Officer.

Mr. Quigley reported that the township had received the legal description and boundary map for the Oberland Park property based on resurveying the 4 property parcels of that property into one parcel as part of the HUD grant project.  Mr. Lair said that he would take this documentation to the County Auditor’s and Recorder’s offices for final processing.

The trustees discussed the 5/30/06 Common Sense meeting regarding local government funding to be held at Newbury Auditorium.  Mr. Quigley noted that Robert Weisdack, Geauga Health Commissioner had agreed to bring the Health Department’s new mass spectrometer to the Kiwanis Lake Community Hall in the near future to do water quality testing.

The Fiscal Officer noted that he had provided the Trustees and Financial Review Committee with a draft tax budget document with projected revenues and expenditures through 2008.  Correspondence received since the last meeting was reviewed by Mr. Quigley.

Mrs. Blair reported progress on her efforts in the Bureau of Workers’ Compensation premium reduction program.   Mr. Skomrock reported on the Economic Development meeting held Monday night that covered the 208 plan and heard presentations from Gus Saikaly and Dave Dietrich; other attendees included County Auditor Tracy Jemison.  The next Economic Development meeting will be June 15th; a speaker will come in to discuss best practices in economic development.

Warrants approved by signing prior to or at this meeting:    
Check #    Date    Payee    Amount
28508    5/17/2006    National City Bank    $121.86
28509    5/17/2006    Office Max-HSBC Business Solutions    $68.85
28510    5/17/2006    Geauga County Maple Leaf    $46.80
28511    5/17/2006    First Energy    $1,964.96
28512    5/17/2006    Alltel    $464.57
28513    5/17/2006    Ecoscape, Inc.    $316.00
28514    5/17/2006    Geauga Regional UHHS Hospital    $51.00
28515    5/17/2006    Chagrin Oil & Gas Co. Inc.    $1,135.18
28516    5/17/2006    Farmers Welding Supply Inc.    $28.49
28517    5/17/2006    Barnes Auto Parts    $23.98
28518    5/17/2006    Grainger    $85.20
28519    5/17/2006    Newbury Auto Parts Inc.    $314.24
28520    5/17/2006    Kimball-Midwest Inc.    $496.46
28521    5/17/2006    Newbury Hardware    $92.73
28522    5/17/2006    Advance Auto Parts- HSBC Bus. Sol.    $26.90
28523    5/17/2006    Western Reserve Farm Co-op    $218.97
28524    5/17/2006    Cintas Corp.    $308.56
28525    5/17/2006    PB Alarm/Geauga Security    $225.00
28526    5/17/2006    Brian Morton    $450.00
28527    5/17/2006    Arcadia Benefits Group, Inc.    $55.00
28528    5/18/2006    Douglas J. Zimperman        - DZ    $1,206.34
28529    5/18/2006    George Mansfield            - GM    $1,112.08
28530    5/18/2006    Jack Lashley                - JL    $929.81
28531    5/18/2006    Jas. Rick Phifer            - JP    $1,295.03
28532    5/18/2006    Karen E. Endres             - KE    $590.14
28533    5/18/2006    Linda C. Nokes              - LN    $772.10
28534    5/18/2006    Randal R. Hollis            - RH    $1,584.83
28535    5/18/2006    Randal O. Hollis            - ROH    $954.48
28536    5/18/2006    Timothy A. Mansfield        - TM    $1,195.35
28537    5/18/2006    Ohio Public Employees Deferred Comp. Pro    $645.00
        Total:    $16,779.91

This meeting was adjourned at 8:30 p.m. upon a motion by Mr. Skomrock, a second by Mrs. Blair, and a unanimous affirmative vote.

__________________________________  ___________________________________     
  Glen Quigley – Chairman            William Skomrock, Jr. – Vice Chairman    

__________________________________  ___________________________________
  Jan Blair                         David Lair – Fiscal Officer